Do you Re-Read Books?

I’ve got a new post over at Murmur.com this week about re-reading books and the fact that I, for some reason, don’t do it.

One thing you’ll almost never see me doing, however, is re-reading books.  There are a ton of books that I consider favorites of mine – The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay, The Road, Ishmael – that I’ve only read once.  And I don’t plan on re-reading them.  It’ not that I wasn’t deeply affected by the books, or that I couldn’t find the time to read them again.  It’s not even that I’m worried they won’t stand up to the sterling memory I have of them.  I just don’t have a desire to read them again.

Read the full post (and let me know about your reading habits) here.

2 responses to “Do you Re-Read Books?

  1. I’d have to say that there are only 2-3 books out there that I’ve re-read. I have one book that I re-read (at least portions of it) quite often, but it was a gift from a professor who passed away, so I think it’s more of a sentimental thing that an absolute love or desire to read that given text.

    Other than that though, I’m not really in the habit of re-reading. What’s the point, really? There are so many books out there that I haven’t read, and I’d rather spend my time getting my hands on those.

  2. There aren’t many books that I will reread, but I have a few books that I return to when my mood is right. The Great Gatsby, The Sun Also Rises, Catch-22, are three. Occasionally I’ll pick up Kerouac. Each one fits a mood. Each one has a theme in it that resonates with me in different ways.

Leave a Reply

