Blogging this Week – Homebrewing, Interviews and a Literary Reprint

I know that there weren’t any new updates on Brews and Books since Monday, but don’t fret!  I’ve been spending a bit of time doing columns for a few other websites.  I’ve got some killer articles for next week (including a book recommendation and some more beer/book pairings), but here’s where you can find my writing this week.

Over at Murmur.com, I wrote a piece introducing some of the community to the art of homebrewing.

Ever since Carter signed a bill legalizing homebrewing in 1978, thousands of Americans have taken up the hobby of brewing beer – usually five gallons at a time.  Personally, two factors played a major part in my taking up the hobby.  Mostly, a growing passion for good, flavorful beer started ramping up big-time after I turned 21, and I wanted to see if I could replicate what I was buying at the store.  After all, good beer can be expensive, and brewing your own beer can drive the price down to three bucks or so a six-pack.  The other driving factor was the fact that my girlfriend is a hell of a cook.  She’s been cooking and baking up a storm since we moved in together, and I wanted to be able to do something – anything – in the kitchen.  With these budgetary, creative and face-saving concerns in mind, I picked up some homebrewing equipment and a kit and went to town.

For my weekly RateBeer column, I revisited the world of beers named after books and authors.

Wouldn’t you know it, there are tons of beers that draw inspiration from the world’s great literature. Some of the names are pretty obvious, some a bit more subtle. Either way, I now have to resolve to try them all. What kind of booklover would I be otherwise?

On my friend Kat Meyer’s Follow the Reader, there’s an interview with yours truly about beer, books and BrewsAndBooks.com.

In all seriousness, the best thing about the blog is turning people on to good beer and good books.  One of the great things about writing on two topics is that beer lovers who may never pick up a book will see book content on my blog and find a new favorite novel.

Similarly, readers who might have never tried good beer – real beer – will end up trying and loving something like a witbier or a chocolat  tarted the site because I’m passionate about both topics, and seeing people find a new favorite beer or book because of me is probably the coolest feeling in the world.

Leave a Reply

