How Do you Discover Books?

Over at Murmur.com, I’ve got a new post up about just how we pick which book we’re going to read next.

During my earliest years as a reader, I know most of my choices were directed from on high by parents and teachers. Luckily, I remember the young adult books I read for school – stories from Roald Dahl, Gary Paulsen, E.B. White and others – as being far more enjoyable than some of the classics I read in later grades. My first experience with both autonomous book choices and recommendations from my peers was the yearly Scholastic book fair. I’m sure I’m not the only one on Murmur that remembers those fliers full of books to choose from, along with a semi-regular book fair that filled the school with books to choose from. My choices weren’t always the most enlightened fare (I seem to remember Nintendo Power getting their game guides into the fairs), but being able to choose my own books turned me on to a lot of series like Goosebumps and Redwall. Series were rad, since I would suddenly have a dozen or more books from one author that I knew I’d like.

How do you pick your next book? Check out the discussion over at Murmur, or let me know in the comments here!

Leave a Reply

