Contest; Win Brewing History Books from Arcadia Publishing!


Earlier this week, I was lucky enough to get a box of brewing-related books from Arcadia Publishing. Since I can’t possibly review all six books, I’m going to give five of them away!

Arcadia Publishing is the leading local history publisher in the United States, with a catalog of more than 6,000 titles in print. Arcadia is best known for its popular Images of America series, which chronicles the history of communities from Bangor, Maine, to Manhattan Beach, California. With more than two hundred vintage black-and-white photographs, each title celebrates a town or region, bringing to life the people, places, and events that define the community.

In terms of beer-related books, Arcadia has published a number of local histories; each focuses on either a single brewery or a region’s brewing history. For this contest, the winners will get to pick from a number of books about brewing in New England, Ohio and Pennsylvania.

To enter the contest, simply leave a comment to this post naming your favorite brewery (or winery or distillery, if you’re so inclined). If you’d like to double your chances to win, tweet “RT @jchristie Enter to win free beer books from BrewsAndBooks.com at http://is.gd/ehy3h” and you’ll be entered in the contest a second time.

The winner of this contest will receive their pick of three of the following books;

Straub Brewery by John E. Schlimm II
Brewing in Cleveland by Robert A. Musson
Brewing in New Hampshire by Glenn A. Knoblock and James T. Gunter
Nashville Brewing by Scott R. Mertie, Patricia Gerst Benson and John J. Gerst Sr.
Narragansett Brewing Company by Hazel B. Turley
Cincinnati’s Brewing History by Sarah Stephens

Additionally, a runner-up will get their choice of any two of the three remaining titles. A review of whatever book is left will go up on Brews And Books soon.

The winner will be chosen randomly at midnight EST on Monday evening (August 16th). This contest is open to residents of the United States and Canada.

18 responses to “Contest; Win Brewing History Books from Arcadia Publishing!

  1. Hands down my favorite brewery is Victory Brewing in Downingtown, PA. I grew up with it!

  2. Hmm. Outside of my own brewery, of course, it’s a hard call… I think of greats like Rogue, Dupont, Sierra Nevada, Brooklyn, Russian River, Dogfish, Stone, Cantillon, New Belgium…

    Then I think of some of the little guys like Pretty Things, Maine Beer Co, High and Mighty, White Birch…

    But I have to come down to my own hometown heros: Allagash Brewing.

  3. i love love straub

  4. Oh these look excellent! My favorite brewery would have to be our local one – Ram’s Head Tavern. They used to only serve their beer in their restaurant; now it’s available in local liquor stores as well.

  5. I’m a fan of Left Hand. I grew up in Boulder, and my dad and I would share their beers, especially Sawtooth Ale.

  6. That’s a tough question, I dont have a favorite brewery, but I allways have fun on the RedHook Tour

  7. I have to agree with Sarah above; Victory in Downingtown is one of the most consistently excellent breweries in the US. One of the hardest parts about moving away from SE Pennsylvania.

  8. My favorite brewery (and only I’ve been to) is Penobscot bay brewery in Winterport, Maine. Though I am developing my own this summer.

  9. My favorite brewer is my uncle Kurt: he makes a ginger-coriander beer that’s to die for. And they’re all bottled in vintage bottles left over from a brewery outside of Shawano, WI, where my grandfather grew up!

  10. So many to choose from! Generally, I love Sam Adams, but locally, I’m a fan of Ballast Point and Lightning.

  11. I have to give a shout out to Brewery Ommegang in Cooperstown, NY. Last summer, I worked as a tour guide there and, not only are their Belgian-style ales delicious, but the atmosphere of the brewery is just great. Awesome contest, by the way!

  12. Chris Andrikanich

    I can’t pass up a cold frosty brew from New Belgium Brewing… But, in Cleveland, Great Lakes Brewing always have something tasty.

  13. I will now nave to go with Great Crescent Brewery in Aurora, IN it is a small brewery with great beer.

  14. Bell’s Brewery in Michigan.

  15. Highland Brewing Company from Asheville, NC!

  16. Half Pints Brewery is my current favourite right now.

  17. My vote is for Ithaca Beer Company. It’s local and its great!

Leave a Reply

