Jumping on the Book meme-Wagon

band_wagon_effectI’m shamelessly stealing this meme from my Bookrageous partner-in-crime Rebecca‘s blog. Here’s hoping that it illuminates a bit about my taste in books and where I’m coming from when I approach my blog … at least, on the book side of things.

(If you want a similar treatment on the beer side, check out the Q&A I did with Ashley Routson earlier this year.)

1. Favorite childhood book? Pretty much anything Roald Dahl. I also remember loving a few of William Sleator’s YA books – that guy was writing dystopias before they were the big thing in young adult books.

2. What are you reading right now? Sleepwalker by John Toomey and Good Eggs by Pheobe Potts.

3. What books do you have on request at the library? I’m got a request in for Mary Roach’s Stiff, which I’ll probably end up buying anyway.

4. Bad book habit? I have serious commitment issues – if a book doesn’t grab me fairly quickly, I’ll drop it like a bad habit.

5. What do you currently have checked out at the library? A couple of Gray and Palmiotti’s Jonah Hex trades.

6. Do you have an e-reader? Not yet.

7. Do you prefer to read one book at a time, or several at once? Book polygamist, baby!

8. Have your reading habits changed since starting a blog? Not a whole lot, but they have in subtle ways. I read with a more critical eye, and take notes on passages and quotes I really like or dislike. The types of books I read have broadened a bit, both because of what other book folks I know are reading (*cough Jenn, Paul, Rebecca, Stephanie coughcough*) and what I receive as review copies.

9. Least favorite book you read this year (so far?). Super Sad True Love Story. Apparently, I didn’t get the memo that it was one of those “next big thing” books.

10. Favorite book you’ve read this year? It’s either The Passage or Mr. Peanut. Right now, I think that The Passage slightly wins out because I love it’s genre-ness.

11. How often do you read out of your comfort zone? Assuming my comfort zone is “genre fiction, memoirs, history, humor and graphic novels” and everything else is outside, I’ve been reading a lot more outside of it lately. I’m not a big literary fiction fan (the term makes me shudder just a little bit) and I’m reading a lot more of it lately.

12. What is your reading comfort zone? See above.

13. Can you read on the bus? Totally. A couple books I’ve loved recently – The Magicians and Taroko Gorge – were read almost entirely on long bus trips.

14. Favorite place to read? Honestly? Bathtub.

15. What is your policy on book lending? I’m pretty open with lending. Honestly, I’m move of a book-giver-awayer.

16. Do you ever dog-ear books? ALL THE TIME. Who needs a bookmark?

17. Do you ever write in the margins of your books? Not often in my contemporary reading, but a lot of my classics are pretty marked up, highlighted and underlined.

18. Not even with text books? Um, see 17?

19. What is your favorite language to read in? English. But this is out of necessity.

20. What makes you love a book? Oh man, so much. Great writing. Big, original ideas. Brain-hurty twists and turns. Humor. A new execution of an old trope.

21. What will inspire you to recommend a book? I just have to really like the book. I’ll recommend anything I enjoyed – what affects the recommendation is who I’m recommending to.

22. Favorite genre? Travelogue and biography.

23. Genre you rarely read (but wish you did?) I’d love to read more hard sci-fi and fantasy. I loved both when I was in middle and high school, but haven’t read any in a dog’s age.

24. Favorite biography? It might be slightly cheating since the book is half bio, half general nonfic, but I’m gonna go with Abigail Pogrebin’s One and the Same.

25. Have you ever read a self-help book? Sure. Aren’t they all self-help books in one way or another? Is this a successful ploy to avoid answering the question?

26. Favorite cookbook? My Better Homes and Gardens New Cookbook, which has the stains to prove it. I still pull this out for everything from making an omelet to a reminder of proper place settings.

27. Most inspirational book you’ve read this year (fiction or non-fiction)? I think I read The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind this year. That’d be the one.

28. Favorite reading snack? Beer.

29. Name a case in which hype ruined your reading experience. I don’t know if Mark Millar’s Wanted had been sold to me as good, but it was definitely talked about enough that I hoped it would be fantastic. It was not.

30. How often do you agree with critics about a book? I’m a pretty hardcore optimist, so I tend to agree with a lot of positive reviews and disagree with a lot of negative ones.

31. How do you feel about giving bad/negative reviews? Since I have the luxury of self-selection in what I talk about on my site, I tend to simply not review a book if I don’t enjoy it. However, I don’t feel too bad about giving a negative review when a publisher or author sends me a book to review or asks me to review a book. I figure that, if I’m being asked, they’d like an honest opinion.

32. If you could read in a foreign language, which language would you chose? I feel like there’s good French literature – and graphic novels – out there that I haven’t read and won’t be translated anytime soon.

33. Most intimidating book you’ve ever read? Most of the classics I read in high school were pretty intimidating at the time, but Crime and Punishment was the intimidatingest.

34. Most intimidating book you’re too nervous to begin? I’m totally intimidated by Matterhorn by Karl Marlantes, if only because of the length. I’m dying to read it, but it’s a serious commitment of time – and, as I understand it, of emotion.

35. Favorite poet? Billy Collins! Dude actually writes poetry that I love reading.

36. How many books do you usually have checked out of the library at any given time? I use the library mostly for graphic novels, and it isn’t uncommon for me to get four or five books at a time.

37. How often have you returned book to the library unread? Too often.

38. Favorite fictional character? Is it too meta to say The Escapist (a fictional character created by fictional characters)?

39. Favorite fictional villain? At the moment, Mason Savoy.

40. Books I’m most likely to bring on vacation? Whatever I’m reading at the moment. I’m not much for the idea of “vacation” versus “regular life” books. Good books are good books.

41. The longest I’ve gone without reading. Hours? Maybe a day or two, but I tend to squeeze in at least a little bit every day.

42. Name a book that you could/would not finish. Hey, I’ve written about this before! *PLUG*

43. What distracts you easily when you’re reading? Twitter.

44. Favorite film adaptation of a novel? The adaptation of To Kill a Mockingbird is still the gold standard, in my opinion.

45. Most disappointing film adaptation? If you count them as book adaptations, a lot of comic book to movie translations – especially old ones – have been pretty piss-poor.

46. The most money I’ve ever spent in the bookstore at one time? A couple hundred bucks, and that’s with an employee discount.

47. How often do you skim a book before reading it? If the book is straight prose, I don’t skim at all. If it’s short stories or something with pictures or a history book that jumps around, I skip around instead of reading straight through.

48. What would cause you to stop reading a book half-way through? Lack of interest. If I wish I was reading something else, I’m not compelled to finish what I’m reading at the moment. Read what you love!

49. Do you like to keep your books organized? I would like to, but can’t say I do.

50. Do you prefer to keep books or give them away once you’ve read them? Some books are definite keepers, but I usually share the love and give them to friends and family.

51. Are there any books you’ve been avoiding? I’ve yet to read any of the Harry Potter books.

52. Name a book that made you angry. I’ll not name names at the moment, but really sleazy and obvious money-grab comic adaptations of popular properties get my Irish up a bit.

53. A book you didn’t expect to like but did? When I read the jacket of Taroko Gorge, I didn’t think it sounded like my kind of book at all. Ended up really digging it.

54. A book that you expected to like but didn’t? Book of Lies by Brad Meltzer.

55. Favorite guilt-free, pleasure reading? I’m with Rebecca – all reading is guilt-free!

2 responses to “Jumping on the Book meme-Wagon

  1. Ashley V Routson

    I love getting to know more about your book-geek side.

  2. If I tell you I’m not talking to you until you read Matterhorn, will that help? It is 100% worth the commitment of both time and emotion.

Leave a Reply

