Win Some Shipyard Swag!

shipyard_brewing

This week, I’m giving away THREE wicked cool prizes, courtesy of Portland’s Shipyard Brewing Company.

The Shipyard Brewing Company was founded by Alan Pugsley and Fred Forsley. Shipyard first began in 1992 at Federal Jack’s Restaurant and Brew Pub in Kennebunk, which is one of Maine’s original brew pubs and working breweries. Within two years, demand for Shipyard beer outpaced the small operation and, in April 1994, Forsley and Pugsley opened the Shipyard Brewing Company in the heart of the waterfront in Portland, Maine on the site of the former Crosby Laughlin Foundry. Now, Shipyard is among the largest craft breweries in the US, and shipped 1,137,465 cases of their beer to 38 states last year.

Next Tuesday, I’ll be giving away some Shipyard gear to three randomly-selected readers. First prize is a large Shipyard Cuban Shirt, second is a ceramic stein from Grey Fox Pottery, and third is a Pumpkinhead cap. To enter, comment on this article with your favorite fall beer by 11:59 PM EST on September 20th. When you comment, please link your name to a website, Facebook page, Twitter account or e-mail address so I can track you down if you win. On the 21st, I’ll randomly select three winners from the comments.

Good luck!

25 responses to “Win Some Shipyard Swag!

  1. I’d usually say Sam’s Oktoberfest, but I just tried the Pumpkin Ale that they have in their fall sampler, and I think I’m in love. It’s the first pumpkin beer I’ve had that isn’t spiced like pie… it’s just pumpkin-flavored. Excellent.

  2. Real Ale Oktoberfest or Saint Arnold Oktoberfest!!

  3. While I’m a Shipyard Pumpkinhead fan, I think my current go-to Fall brew is Smuttynose’s Pumpkin Ale.

  4. I’m not a fan of flavored much-of-anything (particularly coffee), so like Geary’s Autumn Ale since it stays away from the spices and fruit.

  5. Sam Oktoberfest and Sierra Nevada’s new fall beer Tumbler. Soooo good.

  6. I’m all about Rock Art’s Imperial Pumpkin Spruce Stout.
    If you find a bottle check it out!

  7. Dogfish Head Punkin Ale.

  8. I gotta be honest, this is the first time I’ve heard of Shipyard, but I’m always willing to try a new brew. I think the first I’d try is the Longfellow.

  9. I’ll always have a soft spot for Post Road Pumpkin Ale because it was my first pumpkin ale and I love Halloween. Really excited to try Dogfish Head’s Punkin Ale this season đŸ™‚

  10. So many beers, so little time. I was recently blown away when I tried the Rogue Hazlenut Brown. I’m not a big fan of flavored beer but this was exceptional.

  11. Alright, I’ll bite: Southern Tier Pumking. Honorable mentions go to DFH Punkin, Shipyard’s Smashed Pumpkin (as you so eloquently put it last year, the beer that Pumpkinhead should have been), and any good, well-balanced porter. Not my fave style, but a good one just hits the spot big time in the fall.

  12. I have a couple favorites. Ayinger Oktoberfest is probably my favorite Oktoberfest. Long Trail’s Harvest Ale is a good standby. And Harpoon Oktoberfest is also very good.

  13. I am in Maine every summer and NO summer is complete without a Shipyard Ale!I usually think of Shipyard Summers; but now I’m thinking Shipyard’s Smashed Pumpkin may change that up to include Oktoberfest too!

  14. Half Pints Stir Stick Stout!!! Or possibly Trois Pistoles from Unibroue.

  15. I’m just not much of a pumpkin fan, I’m afraid, so this time of year I got for Sam Adams Octoberfest.

  16. Dogfish Punkin’ Ale would be my favorite seasonal but nothing beats a 90 Minute as the leaves turn

  17. I’ll have to go with Sam Adams Oktoberfest also! I’m not a big fan of pumpkin ales either, although I’m always willing to keep trying.

  18. I just had Sam Adams Octoberfest for the first time, and while it was tasty, not my fave. I haven’t tried Dogfish Head Punkin Ale, though it will be consumed this evening. So It’s down to Long Trail Harvest Ale, which I really do like.

  19. New Glarus Staghorn is my favorite Octoberfest beer.

  20. Favorite fall beer is a tough one since there are so many good ones. So far I think DFH Punkin is my favorite, but I have also enjoyed Smuttynose Pumpkin. In the fridge I still have ST Pumking and pumpkin beers from Weyerbacher, Southhampton, and Schlafly, so a new top beer may be chosen.

  21. Cambridge Brewing Company’s Great Pumpkin Ale! Brewed with puree from local, organic sugar pumpkins. Can’t go wrong with that.

  22. Too many! Bummed this year’s Pumking didn’t live up to my memory of it, would love to try the Schlafly sometime. Summit Oktoberfest is a good standby in the fridge, and I’m really anxiously awaiting their “Unchained” series Pumpkin Porter to be released at the end of October.

  23. I like Schell’s Oktoberfest, and Summit Oktoberfest as well.

  24. I am a fan of the Oktoberfest brewed by lefthand brewery in Longmont, CO.

    http://www.lefthandbrewing.com/beers/oktoberfest

  25. Probably Dogfish Head Punkin Ale. Boring, typical, but still good. Oh well, fall ain’t my season for beer.

Leave a Reply

